How long is my license suspension for a second Arizona DUI?

Call (480) 306-8875 24/7 to make an appointment.

July 15th, 2013 by

If you are convicted of a second DUI offense within 84 months your license will be revoked for one year.  A revocation is far more severe than a standard suspension as you must reapply to have your license reinstated.  However, you can apply to receive a Restricted License with a Special Ignition Interlock Device (SIID) after 45 days

To obtain a Restricted License with a SIID you must:

  • Contact the MVD to verify eligibility (or wait until you received a notice of eligibility from the MVD);
  • No other outstanding withdrawal actions pending on your driving record;
  • Installed an ignition interlock on your vehicle and provided us the MVD with a “Verification of Installation” form;
  • Complied with mandatory alcohol treatment programs (screening and all recommended hours of classes) and submitted proof of completion;
  • Submitted proof of future financial responsibility to MVD (e.g., certificate of automobile liability insurance known as an SR22); and
  • Pay all applicable fees.

A Restricted License with a Special Ignition Interlock Device will allow you to do drive as follows:

  • Place of employment and residence during specified periods of time while at employment;
  • Place of residence, the person’s place of employment and the person’s secondary or postsecondary school according to the person’s employment or educational schedule;
  • Place of residence and a treatment or screening facility for scheduled appointments;
  • Place of residence and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments;
  • Place of residence and the office of a physician or other health care professional; and
  • Place of residence and a certified ignition interlock device service facility.

Please also be aware that the time you have the SIID installed on your vehicle will NOT be credited towards any additional time you must have an Ignition Interlock Device installed as a result of your second conviction.

It should also be noted that the one year licenses revocation is in addition to the standard 90 days suspension.  While the suspension and revocation can run concurrently (i.e. at the same time); time served under the 90 day suspension will NOT be credited towards the one year.  Therefore, it is very important that you work with your attorney so that we can schedule both to run at the same time (if possible).

If you need assistance with defending your DUI please give us a call at (480) 306-8875 and schedule a free consultation or click this link to go directly to our DUI Information Page for the most up to date status of Arizona’s DUI laws.

Free Consultation

The Law Offices offers affordable prices and in many cases one time flat fees.
Clients can add or subtract legal services so your legal fees can be tailored to your needs and budget.