Because the DMV, judges, attorneys, state troopers, and others have a legal and moral obligation to keep dangerous drivers off the roads, they often take a grim view of repeat offenses. The laws regarding drunk driving or driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is taken very seriously across the United States. Because of this, the laws are strict and the consequences become increasingly harsher.
You can be charged with a second DUI in the state of Arizona under the following conditions:
- You have received a prior DUI within the last 7 years
- Your driver’s license was suspended or revoked
- Your blood alcohol level at the time of your arrest must be between 0.08% and 0.149%
Note that the prior DUIs did not necessarily have to occur in Arizona. As long as they occurred anywhere in the U.S. and it is on your record, it will be counted to determine which penalty you should receive. Note also that your license suspension doesn’t even necessarily have to be due to a previous DUI charge. For any reason that your license is suspended, if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence, you may find yourself in jail.
Penalties From a 2nd DUI Offense in Arizona
If you have been arrested for a second DUI in Arizona, then you must face the consequences written in the legal code. Those consequences include:
- Spending between 30 to 90 days in jail.
- Having an Arizona SR-22 car insurance policy for 3 years
- Fines between $500 to $2,500
- Revocation of driving privileges by the DMV for 1 year
- Installation of an ignition interlock device after license is reinstated
- Community service
- Participation in a drug and alcohol education program
- Probation lasting up to 5 years
Additionally, there are other fees and costs that are associated with your second DUI, such as those going to the DMV, the SR-22 car insurance, and the fact that your car insurance rates will go up anyway because of the arrest, and especially if there was any property damage or injury.
Why You Need An Attorney
A lawyer has an understanding of the complexities of the law and is in a better position to argue your case for you. During your second DUI, you are allowed to plead for a lighter sentence. You will want an attorney pulling together the relevant evidence to support your case so that this is your outcome. You may have questions about how you will get to and from work obligations, school, or required medical treatments if you have any. You may have also noticed that the fines range greatly. The time that you spend in jail is also variable. An attorney can argue for you to have a lesser conviction. For example, you can have your jail time reduced to 60 days if you complete an approved alcohol education program.